Skip to content

Installing Boot to Gecko – Part 1

March 27, 2012

For the past month or so Stefan Reese and I have been talking about various things mobile, from what’s new and cool on Android to the various devices coming to market.  Stefan is basically my source for everything mobile and keeps a fresh stream of info coming my way.  When I heard about Boot to Gecko I obviously had to show Stefan about it and he seemed pretty stoked about it.  Once Mozilla demoed B2G at the Mobile World Congress 2012 and I saw what it was really about I wanted it pretty bad. I’ve been playing with idea of installing it on my device ( luckily I have a Samsung Galaxy S II, which seems to be what most of the demos are on ) and when Stefan mentioned he was interested in trying it out as well, I figured I may as well do it.

First thing’s first, it seems to be recommended that you do the build on Linux ( the latest version of Ubuntu seems to be what most guides are recommending ) so that’s what I did.  Since I was already running Windows on my desktop I used Ubuntu’s Window’s installer, which allows you to install Ubuntu right alongside an already existing Windows install ( no reformatting/partitioning needed! ).  Once I installed Ubuntu I installed the usual things that I would on a fresh install ( flash, vim, git, got all my music up and running, set up thunderbird, ect ) and begin following the guides that I found online.  One of the great things about the Mozilla community is how well they document things. I was able to follow the steps for the most part with no hiccups. I followed these guides and they seemed to do the trick, so I also recommend them! Just and FYI, I accept no responsibility if you brick your phone by following my steps 😉

Setting up my enviroment so it was ready to install B2G was pretty simple.  It involved getting adb up and running ( which I had prior experience with from some Android development I’ve done ). You can do this by installing the Android SDK ( once installed you may need to run android-sdk-linux/tools/android and update the SDK ). Once that is done, you will need to add adb ( inside android-sdk-linux/platform-tools/ ) to your path ( done in your ~/.bashrc ).  You can test this easily by going to your terminal and typing adb, you should see something like the following:

Now I was ready to backup my phone, which required installind heimdall, which is a cross-platform tool used to flash firmware onto Samsung Galaxy S devices. After installing heimdall you are going to need make sure it has access to your phone ( which is done via udev ). I did this by editting /etc/udev/rules.d/android.rules ( if it doesn’t exist create it ) and adding the following line:

 SUBSYSTEM==”usb”, ATTRS{idVendor}==”04e8″, MODE=”0666″
After doing this I made sure the file was readable and I was ready to move onto the next step, which was installing a whole slew of build dependencies.
To install the build dependencies I essentially coped some commands that were listed on the wiki and it seemed to work out just fine for me.  The commands were as follows:
sudo apt-get build-dep firefox
sudo apt-get install git mercurial libasound2-dev libcurl4-openssl-dev libnotify-dev libxt-dev libiw-dev mesa-common-dev autoconf2.13
sudo apt-get install ia32-libs gcc-multilib g++-multilib bison flex gperf lib32z-dev lib32ncurses5-dev lib32ncursesw5-dev libidl-dev lib32gomp1 autoconf2.13 ccache libx11-dev lib32readline-gplv2-dev
sudo apt-get install default-jdk
Now it’s time to back up our phone and make sure if shit hits the fan that we have something to fall back on. Make sure your phone is connected to your computer via USB. To do this we are going to use heimdall ( which we installed earlier ).  First what I did was cd into my tmp directory. I then ran the following commands:
wget cmw.22aaf3.com/c1/recovery/recovery-clockwork-4.0.1.4-galaxys2.tar
tar xvf recovery-clockwork-*tar
Next I ran:
adb reboot download
Which puts the device into download mode.  You should know your phone is in download mode if your screen is now showing a green android character and telling you not to disconnect your device because it’s in download mode haha.  Now we are going to flash the phone by running the following:
heimdall flash --kernel zImage
And then boot our phone back into recovery mode:
adb reboot recovery
Follow the on screen directions to create a back up and so on ( use your volume buttons and home button to navigate ). Once you’ve done this back up your phones filesystem onto your computer by running the following:
mkdir sgs2-android
cd sgs2-android
adb pull /system system
adb pull /vendor vendor
My console looked like the following during the pull command:
and looked like the following after the vendor command:
Alright, finally we can clone our git repo! I forked mine from https://github.com/andreasgal/B2G ( which from what I can tell is the main one ) and then cloned into a local repository called B2G.  Once you’ve done this run the following commands ( NOT as root, it was strongly advised not to do so on the guide I used ):
cd B2G ( or wherever you have it as )
make sync ( from what I can tell it updates a ton of submodules that are in the project. Depending on how fast your connection is this may take a while, as it did for me. ).
export ANDROIDFS_DIR=sgs2-android ( should be exported to the same PATH that you updated earlier )
make config-galaxy-s2
Once I ran make config-galaxy-s2 I got some build errors mentioning that it couldn’t find a directory.  This was the extent of my night last yesterday and I am going to have to do some more googling or speak to someone in #b2g on irc.mozilla.org.  So far the only real problem that I have encountered was this, which is pretty good I guess. Since B2G is still so young it’s expected that I was going to run into a few issues, who knows, maybe I’ll even get to file a bug or two. Expect another post tonight with hopefully a running version of B2G!
From → B2G, Firefox, school

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Installing Boot to Gecko – Part 2 « David Seifried

Leave a Reply

